Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Putnam County R-I Schools

High School


Ajax Loading Image


2021 FFA Spring Awards Banquet Recap

The 2020-21 FFA officer team conducted the annual FFA Awards Banquet on May 5th, 2021. Contest teams, proficiency award winners, and other individuals were recognized for accomplishments throughout the year. Approximately 140 members and guests attended this year's banquet. After the meal, the awards presentation was started and those results are as follows:


This year, 2 students completed Proficiency Awards in 2 areas, all were first-place winners on the chapter level. These members were Vanessa Bondy (Vegetable Production, 3rd place in Area) and Justin Webb (Sheep Production, 1st place in Area and advanced to state-level competition).


The Leadership Award is designed to honor individuals from each class who display tremendous leadership abilities throughout the year. The Leadership pins were awarded to several students in each class. This year’s recipients were Freshmen: Trace Halley, Dylan Hamilton, and Jude Watt. Sophomores: Cora Hartwig, Kloey Pearson, Chase Simmons, and Chase Tomlin. Juniors: Vanessa Bondy and Grace Schnelle. Seniors: Emily Davis, Maggi Fernandez, Tori Guffey, Kaitlyn Rouse, Carsen Sporleder, and Justin Webb.


The Scholarship pin is given to those with a grade point average of at least 3.9. The members that received this award were Freshmen: Emma Dodsworth, Dylan Hamilton, Elexa Lutz, Reed Valentine, and Jude Watt. Sophomores: Silvia Brown, Cora Hartwig, Alexia Mayberry, Kloey Pearson, Chase Simmons, and Brayden Walter. Juniors: Kora Bain, Vanessa Bondy, Erinn Dodsworth, Grace Schnelle, and Sofia Valencia. Seniors: Emily Davis, Maggi Fernandez, Tori Guffey, Cole Robinson, and Carsen Sporleder.


The Outstanding Achievement Award is given to those who exhibit outstanding commitment to leadership and participation in the chapter’s activities. Members winning this award were Freshman: Johnathan Foster. Sophomores: Adeline Dickerson, Kalyn Hinkle, and Alexia Mayberry. Junior: Sofia Valencia. Seniors: Grant Mathes and Cole Robinson.


Emily Davis received the DeKalb Leadership Award which is given to the graduating senior who has been very successful in his or her agricultural program during their high school career. This award is based on scholastic achievement, leadership, and SAE.


The Star Greenhand award is given to the most active first-year member that has a strong SAE program and who has demonstrated strong leadership and chapter participation. This year’s Star Greenhand was Dylan Hamilton.


Some of the final high honors awarded were: Justin Webb was selected as the Star Chapter Farmer. This is given to a student with an outstanding entrepreneurship-based SAE program who has excellent chapter leadership and participation. Cole Robinson received the Star Chapter in Agricultural placement award. This is given to a student with an outstanding placement-based SAE program who has excellent chapter leadership and participation. Cole Robinson and Justin Webb were also recognized for receiving their State FFA Degrees.


The evening concluded with the installation of the new officers. The 2021-2022 officer team is Chaplain, Jude Watt; Sentinel, Sofia Valencia; Reporter, Kloey Pearson; Treasurer, Dylan Hamilton; Secretary, Chase Tomlin; 2nd Vice President, Cora Hartwig; 1st Vice President, Chase Simmons; and President, Vanessa Bondy.


The FFA Chapter would like to thank everyone who contributed to the banquet to make it a success. We would also like to thank Tim Messman, who acted as a liaison with Farmland, who donated the pork shoulder for the banquet dinner. A special thanks also to David Hines for cooking the pulled pork for the meal. The members would also like to thank everyone who supported the chapter during the school year. Your continual support has been greatly appreciated.


#PutnamProud #PCHSFBLA